Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » Graphiti » Integrating Kieler algorithms into Graphiti editors
Integrating Kieler algorithms into Graphiti editors [message #833990] Sun, 01 April 2012 08:13 Go to next message
Jayant Gupta is currently offline Jayant GuptaFriend
Hi all,

I am a newbie to Graphiti. I am having the following task at hand :

1. I already have a graphical editor (made using Graphiti) for diagrammatically representing and editing my Domain Model (which is being expressed using a DSL made in Xtext).

2. I have to provide a feature of automatic layouting in this graphical editor using the well-known KIELER[1] framework which provides algorithms for automatic layouting.

Could anyone give me an idea as to how this task could be implemented.

I have gathered the following hints and information in this respect:

1. Few of the previous posts in the forum says that the development team is working on providing such a kind of integration in Graphiti ( i.e. a implementation of Kieler layouting algorithms for graphical editor made in Graphiti )
www.eclipse.org/forums/index.php/m/629616/

2. The page no. 17 of "Graphiti 0.8.0 Release Review" says that Kieler project has integrated their layouting algorithms with Graphiti
www.eclipse.org/graphiti/reviews/0.8.0ReleaseReview.pdf

3. The Graphiti FAQs no. 2 provides a snippet for integrating a layouter which comes with GEF into Graphiti.
www.eclipse.org/graphiti/developers/faq.php

4. The Kieler project page provides a plugin (through svn) in this regard.
rtsys.informatik.uni-kiel.de/svn/kieler/trunk/plugins/de.cau.cs.kieler.kaom.graphiti/

Even with these resources in hand, i am unable to understand how would the above mentioned task be implemented.

It might be very straight forward but I will be highly grateful to you, if you could help me, considering me as a newbie.

Thanking you in advance.

Kindly Regards,
Jayant