Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Equinox » Programmatically start Equinox in standalone application
Programmatically start Equinox in standalone application [message #91367] Fri, 29 June 2007 15:29 Go to next message
Eclipse UserFriend
Originally posted by: ddanny.gmail.com

Hello,

I am new to OSGi and Eclipse Equinox, so please accept my apologies if I am asking some sort of stupid questions.

We are currently developing a standalone J2SE application that will need to load some bundles/plugins/modules that will be written for it. We have chosen Eclipse Equinox as the OSGi implementation.

We have several questions:
1. Is it possible to write the plugins as Equinox bundles?
2. Is it possible to programmatically start the Equinox framework from our application?
3. If #2 is possible, is it possible to programmatically install, start, stop... the bundles?

Thank you,

Dan
Re: Programmatically start Equinox in standalone application [message #91383 is a reply to message #91367] Fri, 29 June 2007 22:00 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Eclipse UserFriend
Originally posted by: alex_blewitt.yahoo.com

Yes, you can embed Equinox in your Java application, and from there, install/start/stop items.

EclipseStarter.startup(...)

http://help.eclipse.org/help33/index.jsp?topic=/org.eclipse. platform.doc.isv/reference/api/org/eclipse/core/runtime/adap tor/EclipseStarter.html

That will give back a BundleContext of the system bundle that you can then use to do e.g. Bundle.install().

However, your application won't have visibility to the plugins defined; the classloaders aren't compatible. Your best bet would be to start up Eclipse, then bring up your existing Java application as a (large) bundle, and then define the additional plugins from there.

Alex.