Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Newcomers » Newcomers » Problems installing Eclipse(Error when installing eclipse for the first time)
Problems installing Eclipse [message #784140] Fri, 27 January 2012 05:17 Go to next message
Lance Douglas is currently offline Lance DouglasFriend
Hi, I am completely new to java and to app development (which I plan to use eclipse for) so please don't ream me too bad Wink

I keep getting this error when attempting to install Eclipse for the first time on my computer. I have java JDK SE 6 Update 30 installed and I have successfully built and compiled simple code using netbeans.

It keeps telling me that there is no java virtual machine found, but it searches the folder from which eclipse installs from which doesn't make much sense to me. If there's anything that I'm blatantly doing wrong, please give some insight on how I'm supposed to fix this.

---------------------------
Eclipse
A Java Runtime Environment (JRE) or Java Development Kit (JDK)
must be available in order to run Eclipse. No Java virtual machine
was found after searching the following locations:
C:\Users\Lance Douglas\Downloads\eclipse-SDK-3.7.1-win32-x86_64\eclipse\jre\bin\javaw.exe
javaw.exe in your current PATH
OK

The folder it is searching does not even exist. (\jre\bin\javaw.exe)
Re: Problems installing Eclipse [message #784466 is a reply to message #784140] Fri, 27 January 2012 15:16 Go to previous messageGo to next message
David Wegener is currently offline David WegenerFriend