Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » TMF (Xtext) » Define own scope: Reference C methods
Define own scope: Reference C methods [message #762832] Thu, 08 December 2011 17:16 Go to next message
thomas.kipar is currently offline thomas.kiparFriend
Hi,

I am new to Xtext and just started playing around a little with it. What I want to do is to define a DSL that contains cross references to C-Methods (totally analogous to the jvm-types stuff). What do I have to do for this?

What I did is:
- Creating a ecore model that contains a class describing a C-Method (lets call is CMethod)
- Importing that model to my xtext grammar, using the CMethod-class as cross reference in a rule
- Implementing IGlobalScopeProvider. In the getScope(...) method, I check the class of the given EReference
- If its type is CMethod, I return an instance of my own Scope (CMethdScope extends Abstractcope)
- Finally, I have to implement getAllLocalElements() in my CMehtodScope class. I just search for declared methods and return IEObjectDescriptions

For now, I'm unsure how to build the object descriptions. I just could pass a new instance of my CMethod class there. However, when using my generated editor I get a "dangling reference" error. The JVMTypes creates proxy objects, but I do not understand how to use/create some "custom" URIs that are used there ("java"-protocol), so thats where I am stuck.

Please, can somebody explain how do I have to build those IEObjectDescriptions I have to return from my own scope so I can use them in my grammar?

Regards,

Thoams

Re: Define own scope: Reference C methods [message #762907 is a reply to message #762832] Thu, 08 December 2011 19:50 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Christian Dietrich is currently offline Christian DietrichFriend
Hi,