Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Linux Tools Project » Syntax error in editor [wrong], but make succeeds [correct]
Syntax error in editor [wrong], but make succeeds [correct] [message #749375] Tue, 25 October 2011 07:20 Go to next message
Michael Gras is currently offline Michael GrasFriend
Hello,

I'm new to Linux Tools in Eclipse and after setting up a project, I have the following problem.

Although may code is correct and can be compiled using make inside and outside from eclipse, but the code editor says that I have (many) syntax errors. Any idea what can be wrong?

Thank you
Mischa

Re: Syntax error in editor [wrong], but make succeeds [correct] [message #750055 is a reply to message #749375] Tue, 25 October 2011 15:53 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Jeff Johnston is currently offline Jeff JohnstonFriend
You'll have to give some more information. What kind of project did you create? How did you create it? What are the errors you are seeing? The C/C++ CODAN analyzer will warn you about things that are bad coding practices, even though they won't stop your program from compiling. The markers for CODAN are little bugs. Errors are red, warnings are yellow and informational markers are usually blue. Perhaps you are getting warnings instead of errors. You can hover over the error/warning markers in the left margin and you'll get more information about what it is complaining about.

The indexer will try and parse your code and if it cannot resolve certain header files, it will flag certain things such as macros it does not know about.
Re: Syntax error in editor [wrong], but make succeeds [correct] [message #750125 is a reply to message #750055] Tue, 25 October 2011 16:42 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michael Gras is currently offline Michael GrasFriend
I created a "Hello World C++ Autotools Project" using the GNU Autotools toolchain.