Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » WindowBuilder » A GUI with dynamically changeable "inner view" of other components.
A GUI with dynamically changeable "inner view" of other components. [message #718092] Tue, 23 August 2011 08:33 Go to next message
Andreas  is currently offline Andreas Friend
Hi guys.

I'm pretty new to GUI programming in general, and specifically to using WindowBuilder. I'm currently working on a database client, and was considering a layout as follows...

Basically, one should be able to view different table-entries in a component. However, as the type of table that the current entry belongs to will vary, so will the different fields for that entry.

For example, a user-table entry will have a name and a telephone number, etc. Whereas a item-table entry will have specifications for the item, like serial number and other stuff.

Now, I am considering a layout with for example a "main" JScrollPane that is used to view the table entries, but depending on what kind of entry is selected, I would like the JScrollPane to change its viewport-settings (JScrollPane.setViewportView(Component)) to different JPanels. This is ofcourse so that I can populate the various JPanels with the corrent fields depending on what kind of table the entry is selected from.

So I was wondering if you guys have any tips for how to structure a GUI like this, does it make sense to use a JScrollPane in the main application-window, or would you recommend something else? What other components are there that you can dynamically change the viewportview for?

Also, is JPanel what you would recommend to design the different table-entry-views with?

Any other advice is also greatly appreciated, this is my first bigger GUI application and I feel like I have a lot of questions in my head Smile

// Andreas

[Updated on: Tue, 23 August 2011 08:34]

Report message to a moderator