Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » Java Development Tools (JDT) » Accessing Debugging Information
Accessing Debugging Information [message #703735] Wed, 27 July 2011 21:30 Go to next message
Jimmy L is currently offline Jimmy LFriend
I am new to writing Eclipse plugins, and I am trying create a java debugging plugin. I know that I can listen for breakpoint notification using the org.eclipse.jdt.debug.breakpointListeners extension point. However, I need help with the following.

Suppose that a breakpoint is hit and my listener is called.

1. How do I get the list of threads and how do I find out which thread the breakpoint is in? I guess a better question might be, how do I access stack frame information?

2. How do I get the line of code to which the current breakpoint is attached?

3. How do I get the list of variables and their values?

4. How do I tell jdt to step-in and step-over?

I don't know which jdt classes I should be using, so I'd appreciate it if someone can point me in the right direction.

Thanks,

Jimmy
Re: Accessing Debugging Information [message #713407 is a reply to message #703735] Mon, 08 August 2011 12:52 Go to previous message
Andrey  is currently offline Andrey Friend
Check an ibm site. I would place here couple of links, but not allowed to do it as it turned out.

Also check out JDT plugin developer guide.

The way I am going through to investigate JDT: I got all org.eclipse.jdt.* from repository.I am reading the sources and debugging debugger.