Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » TMF (Xtext) » XText Preprocess(Conditionally ignoring lines of input)
XText Preprocess [message #698098] Mon, 18 July 2011 18:52 Go to next message
jfisher is currently offline jfisherFriend
Hello, I am pretty new to the whole Xtext experience, and I am pretty impressed with it so far. So far I've been able to use it to create an editor for an existing DSL (originally written in lex/yacc). I've been able to get everything working except for one "feature" of the language which is giving me headaches. The current compiler takes a directive telling it which "context" it is targeting. It can then conditionally exclude statements that do not fit it's current context. In practice, this looks like this:

if_context(1,2,8): var=56
if_context(3..6): var=65

In this case if the context is 1, 2, or 8 the value will be 56, if it is 3,4, 5, or 6 it will be 65, if it is 7 the value will be untouched.

In this case, the editor does not care what the context is; however, this directive is valid on any line and can cause syntactic problems if it is not resolved properly. For example:
if (bool1
if_context(1,2,8): and bool2) {
if_context(3..7): and bool3 and bool4) {

In this case, if neither line is included, the syntax is incomplete, and if both lines are included there is a duplication. I can't see any way in the Xtext grammar to do any sort of value check at tokenization time, and trying to add that into every possible part of the grammar seems foolish and error prone.