Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » C / C++ IDE (CDT) » Help! C program Debug error "Program is not a recognized executable." (debug error when trying to run debugger)
icon9.gif  Help! C program Debug error "Program is not a recognized executable." [message #696000] Wed, 13 July 2011 03:32 Go to next message
Will Khan is currently offline Will KhanFriend
Thanks in advance to anyone who can offer help!

My goal is to make a simple C program, like Hello World in C in eclipse Indigo. I've used visual studio in the past, but I'm new in Eclipse, and I'm generally not a bad learner. I've read in some documentation somewhere that eclipse CDT may not come with a debugger - this not 100% clear to me if I need to download something else ("The CDT doesn't include its internal debugger, but it offers a front end to GNU GDB debugger, which must be available locally.") -see bottom of this post to see what I did install.

I am running eclipse Indigo on a Mac (OS 10.6).
I have installed the CDK toolchain, among other software (see bottom of post)

With some experimenting, I got my program to build and run fine. But, when I try to run the debugger, I get the unhelpful message: "Program is not a recognized executable.". I made sure my launch configuration is pointing at the new output file created in the release and debug directories respectively. Interestingly enough, when I click "Search Project", everything is blank - there are no Binaries in the selection window when it asks 'Choose Program to Run'. This is the same situation for both the Debug and Release launch configurations.

Some more details:
I built both perspectives (Release & Debug). Both builds created what looks like to me, an output file. The thing is that I can successfully run the output, but not "debug" my code.