Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » EGit / JGit » Problems with the Synchronize Workflow
Problems with the Synchronize Workflow [message #668186] Wed, 04 May 2011 11:43 Go to next message
Stefan Hansel is currently offline Stefan HanselFriend
I'm pretty new to EGit and try to adopt my Workflows to the new fancy DVCS world.

After having worked with EGit for about three weeks, I still feel not comfortable with the Synchronize Workflow.

Synchronizing is something I heavily do by the way to commit stuff. This is my personal quality assurance before every commit (i.e. looking that I didn't leave a System.out.println), so I never use the direct commit-command at all.
As this is the most used feature of EGit I'm using on a daily basis I'm very interested in streamlining this workflow.

So here is what I'm stumbling about:

• when I choose 'Synchronize' an extra dialog opens, giving me the chance to choose my Synchronize target.
    As the destination I can choose between 'local branch', 'tags' and my remote repository seems to be listed as well.
    Unfortunately the remote repository is selected as the default, so I always have to change it to the local branch and hit 'OK'.
    This is three clicks (click combox, choose, click apply) to get into my most used Synchronize view and these clicks really annoy me most. This dialog also does not remember my last selection, which might reduce the pain. I also didn't find an option to change the default.

Comparing with Mercurial Eclipse integration: They have two menu items: 'Synchronize With ...' and 'Synchronize', the latter one being the one I'd really need as this also omits an extra dialog.
    I wished EGit has the same. Am I the only one using the Synchronize view for local commits or am I doing something wrong?