Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Memory Analyzer » Unable to figure out HashMap values - (use of Hash Entries context menu)(Struggling to understand and use the Hash Entries)
Unable to figure out HashMap values - (use of Hash Entries context menu) [message #665554] Fri, 15 April 2011 05:08 Go to next message
Missing name Missing name is currently offline Missing name Missing nameFriend
Hi - I am new to Eclipse forums and the MAT plugin.

I am trying to review the contents of a HashMap which is an instance attribute of a certain class. I got to the point of writing the correct OQL query to view the list of java.util.HashMap.

select _attributes from com.sample.AClassWithHashMapVariable

So far so good. As I couldnt figure out a way to get to a particular key through the query, i thought the next best thing would be to use the Hash Entries menu.

But I am unable to view the contents of this hashmap using the Java Collections --> Hash Entries context menu. Actually, I am finding the Hash Entries slightly unintuitive. I just want to do something like this.

select _attributes.get("key") from com.sample.AClassWithHashMapVariable

I toyed with it for a couple of hours, tried setting the key value to the "-key_attribute" parameter, but nothing comes of it. The documentation talks about "custom (eg. non-jdk) map class" for all the attributes which I am unable to understand.

Sorry if this is a repetitive question, but i searched in this and the previous forums but did not find the answer to this. In fact one fine gentleman had suggested the use of Hash Entries for a similar question, but the original poster did not respond as to whether it worked out for him or not.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Arun.

[Updated on: Fri, 15 April 2011 05:14]

Report message to a moderator