Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Archived » BIRT » cannot create a new JDBC data source(cannot create a new JDBC data source)
cannot create a new JDBC data source [message #663594] Tue, 05 April 2011 18:33 Go to next message
kayanserdar is currently offline kayanserdarFriend
hi there,

I am very new to BIRT and your help is much appreciated to resolve below issue.
I have setup few jdbc connection with no issues and able to query data with no isues.
I have just tried to create another jdbc connection to another DB under Data Source explorer and it is always giving me below error:
"There is an error in get connection, Io exception: The network adapter could not establish the connection "
I have searched similar topics but none was useful so far to resolve this issue.
I am still able to use other JDBC connection and same jdbc driver is used for all connection. This DB can also be reached via toad and no issues there.

Settings for problematic jdbc connection is below:
BIRT : 2.6.1
Database class: Oracle.jdbc.oracledriver(v10.2)
Database URL:jdbc:oracle:thin:@IP address:1521:dbname

Stack Trace:
org.eclipse.birt.report.data.oda.jdbc.JDBCException: There is an error in get connection, Io exception: The Network Adapter could not establish the connection.
at org.eclipse.birt.report.data.oda.jdbc.JDBCDriverManager.doCo nnect(JDBCDriverManager.java:262)
at org.eclipse.birt.report.data.oda.jdbc.JDBCDriverManager.getC onnection(JDBCDriverManager.java:186)
at org.eclipse.birt.report.data.oda.jdbc.JDBCDriverManager.tryC reateConnection(JDBCDriverManager.java:706)
at org.eclipse.birt.report.data.oda.jdbc.JDBCDriverManager.test Connection(JDBCDriverManager.java:612)
at org.eclipse.birt.report.data.oda.jdbc.ui.util.DriverLoader.t estConnection(DriverLoader.java:120)
at org.eclipse.birt.report.data.oda.jdbc.ui.util.DriverLoader.t estConnection(DriverLoader.java:133)