Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Technology Project and PMC » Editor for multi-layered XML using IDocumentExtension3 and ProjectionDocument?
Editor for multi-layered XML using IDocumentExtension3 and ProjectionDocument? [message #65503] Thu, 26 August 2004 21:08
Eclipse UserFriend
Originally posted by: Mickel76.gmx.net

Hi all!

I'm very new using and developing Eclipse plug-ins and I'm also new to this newsgroup. I don't know
either whether this is the right one of the several Eclipse newsgroups to ask this question. So I
hope you can help me. Any comments, suggestions and hints would be very useful for me.

I consider developing an editor plug-in for multi-layered XML data. This is something like

<1_dialog>
<2_text>
<1_utterance who="peter"><2_sentence>Can you give me</1_utterance>
<1_utterance who="paul">the hammer?</2_sentence></1_utterance>
</2_text>
</1_dialog>

The problem is that I have no hierarchical data structure, but rather a multi-hierarchical one. So
I have several hierarchical XML structures mapped on one common primary data instance. To
distinguish the several annotation layers I use layer-ID prefixes, which function a bit like
namespaces (and which are connected with the used annotation schemes (normaly DTD subsets)).

My editor should hide the layer-ID prefixes (using coloring instead) and should only allow the
annotation on one selected annotation layer. The tags of foreign annotation layers should be hidable
or lockable.

I have searched the Eclipse API and I found
- org.eclipse.jface.text.IDocumentExtension3, which adds the concept of multiple partitionings and
delimited partitions which has a well defined start delimiter and a well defined end delimiter
(working together with org.eclipse.jface.text.IDocumentPartitionerExtension2) and
- org.eclipse.jface.text.projection.ProjectionDocument which is a sequence of fragments of the