Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » TMF (Xtext) » Xtext / Xpand problem
Xtext / Xpand problem [message #642534] Wed, 01 December 2010 17:17 Go to next message
Mehdi Missing name is currently offline Mehdi Missing nameFriend
Hi,

i am new in Xtext / Xpand and i have a question :

I have built a textual DSL using Xtext and succesfully created a text output file from my Xtext model (defined in my plugin editor) using Xpand, my question is how do i go the other way around ? from the output file generated by Xpand to a model who is conform to my Xtext grammar ?

And thank you for your time.
Re: Xtext / Xpand problem [message #642589 is a reply to message #642534] Wed, 01 December 2010 21:22 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Meinte Boersma is currently offline Meinte BoersmaFriend
Do you mean: how to reconstruct the model from the output of an Xpand template?

You're going to implement round-tripping, are you? Wink (Round-tripping is generally considered an Anti-pattern around here.)

In general, the answer is: you can't unless the (Xpand-)mapping model → output is bijective. Often, some information is lost or the mapping back may be ambiguous. Provided the mapping is bijective, then you could either try and make a(n Xtext) grammar for the output, or use another, pre-existing parser for the format of the output (Java/XML/...) or you could even try and use regular expression to extract anything which should have come from a model element.

Re: Xtext / Xpand problem [message #642606 is a reply to message #642589] Wed, 01 December 2010 23:08 Go to previous messageGo to next message
i see, thank you for the quick respond but it's really problematique because i need to do my " Round-tripping thing " Very Happy

isn't there any other solution to do so ? even without using Xpand ? because the main reason i'm doing this is the Round-tripping (i kinda like this expression now) Laughing