Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » M2T (model-to-text transformation) » [Acceleo 3] Howto use a model in memory
[Acceleo 3] Howto use a model in memory [message #638932] Sat, 13 November 2010 13:24 Go to next message
Frank Connor is currently offline Frank ConnorFriend
Hello,

I am new to Acceleo, but so far, I like it a lot. I am, however, struggeling with a concept concerning the workflow:

I have a File for which an editor exists, for example, a C-Header-File file.h or some description language (Avro description). The editors for these files always create an abstract syntax tree, which can be viewed in the editor in the outline section, e.g.

Now I want to use Acceleo to generate code from this syntax tree from within Eclipse. So, in addition to my mtl-Files I provided an autogenerated Acceleo UI, so I can just click on the file with the right mouse button and select the Acceleo M2T Code Generator.

The bad thing is, that the constructor of the main projects generate.java file gets called (with the URI file name "file.h") instead of the constructor that takes an EObject model (of the AST) as a parameter.

So, my question is: how can I access the model associated with the file file.h? Do I need to modify the editor (I'd prefer if that's not the case)? Or is that something, which can be handled in Acceleo (or even better: the UI)? Or is there a better way to apply Acceleo to the Abstract Syntax Tree instead of selecting the file fromwhich the AST was created? Or do I have to look to ANT-Files or MWE to solve the project in an elegant fashion?

How does this work?

Thank you in advance, folks!

Bye,
F.
Re: [Acceleo 3] Howto use a model in memory [message #639085 is a reply to message #638932] Mon, 15 November 2010 09:11 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Stephane Begaudeau is currently offline Stephane BegaudeauFriend

Hi Frank,