Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Virgo » Provisioning project dependencies in Virgo
Provisioning project dependencies in Virgo [message #633283] Sat, 16 October 2010 00:40 Go to next message
Brian Topping is currently offline Brian ToppingFriend
Greetings,

I'm new to Virgo and am working to get a better understanding of the provisioning process. I've read the documentation thoroughly and have looked through the forums, but still not understanding some details.

Specifically, it seems that I should be able to provision Virgo using a Maven repository (making transitive dependencies much easier and more reliable). I see Pax Runner, but it seems oriented toward a bare metal provisioning of it's supported containers, not toward Virgo Server. I also looked extensively at the remote provisioning repositories, but these are other Virgo severs, not just simply a remote Maven repository. The only other option for provisioning the first container seems to be to manually copy dependencies in.

What am I missing here? [1] states that "when a bundle is deployed dm Server will automatically satisfy the bundle's dependencies by installing additional bundles from the repository", but I am assuming this is referring to *another* Virgo server, not the first Virgo server. Is there no way around manually provisioning the first repository? No way to connect to the Spring EBR and use that?

FWIW, I read somewhere about issues with optional dependencies and Maven repositories. For this reason, I was going to front-end the Maven repositories with Nexus, so I could filter out the unwanted dependencies. It might be a good practice that allows Maven repositories to be used reliably as provisioning repositories.

Thanks for any advice!

Brian

[1] http://forum.springsource.org/showthread.php?t=80326