Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » C / C++ IDE (CDT) » Configuring Eclipse for VS Compiler
Configuring Eclipse for VS Compiler [message #556317] Tue, 31 August 2010 18:13 Go to next message
MM is currently offline MMFriend
Hi,

when I started programming C++ I used Eclipse CDT + MinGW. Soon enough I realized that all the roads lead to Visual Studio so I switched to VS. I have been using it since then but I don't really like it mainly because it slows down my system extremly. So I thought to myself: "Why not use Eclipse CDT with the VS compiler?".

Since I didn't find anything with google about this topic (At least nothing helpful) I tried it myself.
I added a custom builder and linked it to the "cl.exe" from Visual Studio. But I ran into a problem with the arguments. As a test I simply put this as arguments: "${build_project}\Test.cpp".
Of course the compiler said it couldn't find the iostream.h since I didn't specify any include directories in the arguments.
And here is the problem: I don't find a variable which gets the include directories which I specified in the "Paths and Symbols" section of the project settings.

So my question is how I can get these directories so I can specify them as arguments. Also the ${build_files} doesn't return the expected result. Help would be very appreciated since I don't know much about the functionality of Eclipse.

Thanks in advance.

[Updated on: Tue, 31 August 2010 18:48]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Configuring Eclipse for VS Compiler [message #556763 is a reply to message #556317] Thu, 02 September 2010 14:49 Go to previous messageGo to next message
MM is currently offline MMFriend
So I realized that I have to use a toolchain to be able to use the VC++ Compiler effectively with Eclipse CDT.
I found a pretty solid one here.