Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Remote Application Platform (RAP) » WAR Deployment problem(WAR deployment using product based approach in Helios)
WAR Deployment problem [message #551819] Mon, 09 August 2010 16:20 Go to next message
Patrick is currently offline PatrickFriend
Hi All,

I'm quite new to RAP development and before jumping into the platform details I would
like to resolve some deployment issues just to be sure that everything can be deployed in the app server we are using (WebSphere 7.0). I followed the product based approach, as refactored in the Helios release:

1) copied the sample product definition /org.eclipse.equinox.server.examples.servletbridge.product/p roducts/server.core.product into a new product definition \maildemo.rap.product\maildemo.product located in the maildemo.rap.product feature project

2) added to the feature all the RAP related bundles as well as my maildemo bundle and RAP specific fragment (I'm also experimenting single sourcing...)

3) updated the \org.eclipse.equinox.server.servletbridge\rootfiles\web.xml deployment descriptor to enable framework commands and OSGi console telnet

Using the product export wizard with root directory set to WEB-INF and archive file set to maildemo.war I'm able to successfully export all bundles and also to deploy the war on the app server; anyway, from the OSGi console I see that most of the required bundles are not active (they are show a RESOLVED or LAZY status) so the RAP maildemo application doesn't work. I've to manually start all the bundles in order to have it running.