Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Archived » SeMantic Information Logistics Architecture (SMILA) » Crawler - Configuration and behavior
Crawler - Configuration and behavior [message #551806] Mon, 09 August 2010 15:39 Go to next message
Andrej Rosenheinrich is currently offline Andrej RosenheinrichFriend
Hello,

i'm new to SMILA, it is an impressive tool, but unfortunatly also a bit tricky to understand Wink

At the moment I am trying to understand the behavior of a crawler and how to configure it. I understand the attributes i can gather and what a collected record would look like. What I dont get yet is where "under the hood" the actual crawling is done and what possibilties to change that i have without changing the actual implementation. For example, when crawling a website, can i configure the format of the content? Is content necessarily an attachment? Can I get the full HTML-code of a website as content or for instance just the text between certain tags, or only the text and no HTML-code at all?

Are there easy answers to those question or is there a more specific description to crawlers than whats in the wiki? Would you be interested in comments on the wiki, btw.?

Thanks in advance!
Andrej
Re: Crawler - Configuration and behavior [message #551918 is a reply to message #551806] Tue, 10 August 2010 07:46 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Daniel Stucky is currently offline Daniel StuckyFriend
Hi Andreij,

thanks for your interest in SMILA.

A crawlers main purpose is to provide data "as is" from a specific data source. In case of the WebCrawler it means that it starts the crawling on a given start URL (called Seed) and returns the resource specified by this URL. You also get access to the available information within the HTTP header of the webserver's response when sending the resource. So far this is standard HTTP functionality.