Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » GMF (Graphical Modeling Framework) » Diagram with timed events on horizontal lines(Would like hints or pointers to similar examples)
Diagram with timed events on horizontal lines [message #497124] Thu, 12 November 2009 14:40 Go to next message
Chris Lott is currently offline Chris LottFriend
Hi, I am writing to ask for hints and pointers for getting started with a new editor. I'm not new to GEF, but I am new to GMF. I'm trying to avoid all the dogwork of creating a GEF editor by sitting on top of GMF.

I would like to create a graphical editor to show and manipulate timed events. Think about controlling a strand of lights (it's close to Christmas :-). I have in mind a picture vaguely like Apple's garage band, in which multiple tracks are shown on horizontal lines. I am thinking one horizontal line for each light strand, with time t-zero at the left and increasing to the right. I would like to put the on-off events on top of each line. So if I have 3 lights to control the editor would show something like this:

1 -----[|||||]-------[||||||]------------------
2 ----------[|||||]-----[|||||]----------------
3 ----------------------------------------------
0....1.....2.....3.....4.....5.....6.....7.....8 (scale that is not editable)

This diagram represents the following data: strand 1 lights up and goes off, strand 2 lights up and goes off, etc; strand 3 never lights up at all. I want the editor to support adding/removing a light, adding/removing events to a light, and dragging the events left/right. A light might have a label. Each event has properties like brightness, start time, end time; maybe a label. That's about it.