Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Equinox » p2 feature update rules
p2 feature update rules [message #489362] Fri, 02 October 2009 15:23 Go to next message
Bob Walker is currently offline Bob WalkerFriend
Can someone clarify the rules that p2 uses when updating please?

I'm new to p2, and RCP in general, but here's where I'm at:

I have an RCP product that contains a single defining product feature.This feature includes several plugins that provide functionality to the product.

Say I update a plugin, and I bump the service version number, say from 1.0.1 to 1.0.2 - I correspondingly update the feature version (which happens to be the same at the moment, but I don't expect all my plugins will change in tandem) version from 1.0.1 to 1.0.2.

When I point an installation of my app to a newly created p2 update site/repo it picks up the new version of the product feature and installs it, but seems to regard the existing installed version of the plugins as satisfying the requirements of the feature, so leaves them untouched.

I can see why this would be, I just want to know what I have to do to get p2 to see my plugins as distinct enough to require updating. Is it as simple as bumping the minor version rather than the service version, or is it more complex than that?

I understand that there is "feature patch" functionality, but I don't think this is really what I'm after, I just want the behaviour in which if I point my installed app at the p2 site after a recent build and the versions have changed, all necessary plugin content gets updated.

Thanks!

Bob Walker

Re: p2 feature update rules [message #489412 is a reply to message #489362] Fri, 02 October 2009 21:08 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Ben Vitale is currently offline Ben VitaleFriend