Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Archived » BIRT » Change display text on parameter
Change display text on parameter [message #1843025] Mon, 12 July 2021 09:07 Go to next message
Mike Delaney is currently offline Mike DelaneyFriend
Hi,

I am new to BIRT and I have created a parameter for my report to filter by if a document has been sent or not.

In our database 0 = No and 1 = Yes

I want the combo box to show Yes and No instead of 0 and 1

I have used the following code in the expression builder to try get the results

if(params["param_InvSent"] == 1) {
"Yes";
} else {
"No";
}

This gave me 2 no options, i changed it to 1 '=' and this gave me 2 yes options

I have also tried

if(dataSetRow["isdocumentsent"] == 1) {
return "Yes";
} else {
return "No";
}

This gave me no options

I have been putting this in the expression builder on the param itself, is that the correct place for it?

Your help is appreciated.

Thanks.
Re: Change display text on parameter [message #1843039 is a reply to message #1843025] Mon, 12 July 2021 22:39 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Jerry Sheets is currently offline Jerry SheetsFriend
It is not clear why you are trying to do in an expression. The straight forward way to do it is as shown in the attached screenshot. If there is a reason for trying to do it outside of the parameter builder, let me know more detail and I will see if I can help
Re: Change display text on parameter [message #1843047 is a reply to message #1843025] Tue, 13 July 2021 06:59 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Robert Jones is currently offline Robert JonesFriend
your combo box looks fine. You want the value to be 0 or 1 because that is what the database uses and will filter on. When the combo box is being displayed for parameter entry, you should see Yes/No.

On the dataset, you will do something like

select blah from blat where isdocumentsent = ?