Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Eclipse 4 » Database programming, Third party components re-usability(Major disapointement trying to program E4 platform)
Database programming, Third party components re-usability [message #1841129] Tue, 04 May 2021 13:43 Go to next message
Charly Clément is currently offline Charly ClémentFriend
Dears,

I am a just retired engineer, 40 years exclusively focused in software development, and I cannot understand how peoples was able to write (yet so nice) applications in the eclipse platform. !!??

I would like to develop, from scratch, an eclipse RCP application, for managing crypto currencies wallets, trading sites, accessing « natively » to miscelaneous blockchains, accessing « REST API » to miscelaneous trading sites, displaying data grids, charts, using in internal a SQLite database,...... and so on.

In short, a « prototype » GUI application which I estimate that I would have done alone in one month with DotNet / C#.

Bur now, after 1 month, reading the Vogel's book and surfing about 24/24 on Internet, I am still not able to connect to a fucking sqlite database and displaying a single row of a table.

Third party Applications :
I wanted to start from an existing open source nice applications such as Dbeaver, Apache DirectoryStudio, and/or other.
But :

• I was unable to « dismount » such applications, to keep the few essential parts of my interest, as these apps are non modular, full of dependencies and so on, despite that eclipse is touted as the summit of modularity.
  • I even don't yet know if these applications are E3 or E4 ones.
  • I only observed that between Vogel's book (E4) and these applications, these are two things different.

Modularity, Re-usability :
OK, I then started from scratch, roughly understanding what I did using the Vogel's book.
I now have a small result which I could like.