Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » C / C++ IDE (CDT) » So I've updated to 2019-12...(You can call it a rant)
So I've updated to 2019-12... [message #1826297] Thu, 23 April 2020 06:13 Go to next message
Stanislav Vorobiov is currently offline Stanislav VorobiovFriend
I don't know why I'm writing this at all, I've never written such posts in a long time, but I'm really pissed. I'm a C++ developer and I always liked eclipsed, I liked the idea behind it, but the performance... Well, I was using 2014 version before and it had performance issues, recently I've updated to 2019-12 and it's all the same and sometimes even worse. To put it shortly, whenever I type something eclipse starts to eat a lot of cpu, 400%+ (I have 8 cores with hyperthreading) for a short time and then stops, well, it wouldn't be a problem if it was some background task, but I get stuttering in my editor, it's very annoying, feels like crap. I had this problem in 2014 version and now I though like, hey, 5 years have passed, they probably fixed it... nope :(
The thing is this doesn't happen all the time, like 70% of the time it's ok, but when this happens I'm forced to restart my IDE. My C++ project is quite big, a lot of source and header files, third-party libs, templates, macros, etc. but hey, this is a real project, I do understand that eclipse would work fine on "hello world" like stuff, but I'm not working on "hello world", I'm working on real stuff here. So I don't know what to do, I'm writing this now because I was forced to restart my IDE again, 2nd time this morning... I'm thinking about switching to QtCreator or m.b. try CLion... I want to use eclipse, I really do, but I'm so tired of this performance crap...
Re: So I've updated to 2019-12... [message #1826342 is a reply to message #1826297] Thu, 23 April 2020 17:36 Go to previous messageGo to next message
David VavraFriend