Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Polarsys » Capella workbench » installation problem(capella crashes after splash screen, before welcome screen)
installation problem [message #1826122] Mon, 20 April 2020 00:16 Go to next message
Hiroshi Murata is currently offline Hiroshi MurataFriend
I am new to Capella, want to try out the tool for MBSE study.
The tool started but stopped right after the splash screen, as reported in detail below. Any help is appreciated!

(1) Installed jre-8u202-windows-x64.exe on my ThinkPad, running Win10 64-bit.
(2) Created a folder C:\capella140, and installed Capella 1.4.0 for Win 64
in the folder.
(3) In C:\capella140\capella\eclipse, i have double-clicked "eclipse.exe"
(4) Splash screen appeared, and disappeared.
(5) The welcome screen didn't appear, but instead, a small error window appeared
saying "an error occurd. See the log file".
(6) In the log file, a Java runtime Exception is reported saying, "org.polarsys.capella.core.platform.sirius.ui.perspective.id" could not be found in the registry.,
where the top of the stacktrace is at "org.eclipse.equinox.internal.app.EclipseAppContainer.startDefaultApp(EclipseAppContainer.java:252)".

note1: the logfile, eclipse.ini etc are attached in the zip file.
note2: Tried jre-8u121-windows-x64.exe also, resulted same problem.
note3: In my pc, I have other JREs and eclipse installation, in 32-bit configuration. So I added -vm option in eclipse.ini to specify the 64-bit JRE explicitly.

Re: installation problem [message #1826130 is a reply to message #1826122] Mon, 20 April 2020 05:53 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Stephane LACRAMPE is currently offline Stephane LACRAMPEFriend
Hi There,

I think the problem comes from your eclipse.ini file.
You should move the 2 lines before the -vmargs line:
-vm
C:\progra~1\java\jre1.8.0_202\bin\java.exe