Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » C / C++ IDE (CDT) » Eclipse IDE for STM32, Hardfault_Handler due to failed vector table fetch
Eclipse IDE for STM32, Hardfault_Handler due to failed vector table fetch [message #1821653] Tue, 18 February 2020 08:33 Go to next message
Steliyan Vasilev is currently offline Steliyan VasilevFriend
First I want to say that I am a newbie in this field. I am trying to upload and debug a code on a custom-made board based on STM32F303CB chip through a NUCLEO-F446RE board. I am using Eclipse IDE (2019-12), a GNU toolchain and a SEGGER J-Link debugging software.

The code builds successfully with no errors, anyway when starting to debug, a HardFault_handler is called. The code was not written by me. I doubt that the problem is in the code itself (it builds) and rather think that some setting of the tools is not right (correct me if I am wrong). I also tried the same procedure on several boards, so I would exclude a hardware issue as well.

The debugger hangs when initializing the USB in the function MX_USB_Init(), leading to a HardFault_handler. When debugging in single-step mode, most funcitons within MX_USB_init() execute successfully, except USBD_Start(&hUsbDeviceFS). When stepping into USBD_Start(...), it arrives in the while(1) loop of the HardFault_handler. When debugging in resume mode (no single step), debugger would also hang at previous functions which work properly in single-step mode such as HAL_PCD_Init(&hpcd_USB_FS), HAL_PCDEx_PMAConfig, USBD_RegisterClass(&hUsbDeviceFS, &USBD_CDC), USBD_CDC_RegisterInterface(&hUsbDeviceFS, &USBD_Interface_fops_FS) and again USBD_Start(&hUsbDeviceFS).