Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Newcomers » Newcomers » Project Structure matching Filesystem Structure(New to eclipse and this is driving me INSANE)
Project Structure matching Filesystem Structure [message #1797511] Thu, 01 November 2018 01:09 Go to next message
Alex Adams is currently offline Alex AdamsFriend
I've been working with Eclipse for a few years now but only recently have started to work on very large projects with eclipse (with hundreds of subprojects / pom.xml). But, I just can't seem to get Eclipse to organize my workspace in a way that makes any kind of sense at all. Why is it so hard?

So, with these big projects I am working on, they are broken up into lots of subprojects. So for example, the structure on my filesystem is as follows:

Project
    -Subproject1
        -Subproject1.1
            src/java/foo/bar/...
            pom.xml
        -Subproject1.2
            src/java/foo/bar/...
            pom.xml
        -Subproject1.3
            src/java/foo/oof/...
            pom.xml
        pom.xml
    -Subproject2
        -Subproject2.1
            src/java/com/test/...
            pom.xml
        -Subproject2.2
            src/java/foo/bar/...
            pom.xml
        -Subproject2.3
            src/java/foo/oof/...
            pom.xml
        pom.xml
    pom.xml

This is great. It makes perfect sense to me and I can understand the flow perfectly. However, Eclipse just for whatever reason refuses to organize the projects like this. Instead, it wants to do this....

Project
Subproject1
Subproject2
Subproject1.1
Subproject1.2
Subproject1.3
Subproject2.1
Subproject2.2
Subproject2.3

It doesn't look too bad when there is only this small amount, but you must keep in mind that when I have ~400 projects/subprojects like this, all sorted alphabetically, it becomes impossible to keep track of what code is where.