Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Sirius » [Solved] How to share a singleton between "Services.java" and other plugins ?("Services.java" is outside the OSGi classloader and therefore it has a different instance of the singleton than other plugins inside the OSGi classloader)
[Solved] How to share a singleton between "Services.java" and other plugins ? [message #1790860] Tue, 19 June 2018 08:06 Go to next message
Stéphane Tzvetkov is currently offline Stéphane TzvetkovFriend
Hi,
First, thank you for your great work with Sirius, this is a very usefull and interesting framework.

I'm still a beginner with this framework, so I may be using Sirius in a strange way, if so: please explain me how to do it right.

I'm using Sirius inside an Eclipse RCP application, so far everything was working great.
My Eclipse RCP applications (like all Eclipse apps) is based on the OSGi specification, wich is implemented by the Equinox framework. So in pratice I'm developping plugins that are interpreted as bundles from the OSGi point of view.

This is important because those plugins will all be related to the OSGi classloader at runtime.

On the other hand, Sirius provides a class "Services.java" that allow the execution of external (i.e. user-side) java code. For example: if I write a "run()" method in this class, I could call this method on an element of my Sirius diagram by writing "aql:self.run()" in the proper associated aql field.

My problem is: the methods inside the "Services.java" class do not depend on the OSGi classloader, but on the sun.misc classloader.