Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Newcomers » Newcomers » Hello All (And a question)(Newcomer greeting & question regarding Spring Boot/Tomcat)
Hello All (And a question) [message #1787494] Sat, 26 May 2018 18:26 Go to next message
Brandon Campbell is currently offline Brandon CampbellFriend
Hello everyone, my name is Brandon. I am a recent graduate with a bachelor's degree of computer science. One thing I noticed many employers wanting was skills with Spring Boot application development. After seeing this, I set out to create a functional Spring Boot MVC website with MySQL Database support. It took me awhile to find a tutorial that addressed both MySQL connections and front-end JSP pages, but I found one here: [can't post link yet]

Everything was going great until I tried to export the project to a .war file and deploy it on my AWS hosted Ubuntu server with Tomcat installed. I succeeded in deploying the application, but every single page shows a 404 error. Confused, I checked within the Spring IDE clicking "run as java application", and it worked fine. Then I thought...what if I click "Run On Server"? When I did this, I got the same behavior as when I deployed it to my remote Tomcat--i.e. all pages showed 404 errors. If anyone could assist me, I would be incredibly grateful--I feel like I am so close to getting where I want...as everything works as expected...just not when "run as server". The link to my project is here on git: [can't post link yet] and if you need any more details and wish to help me please let me know, I'll provide whatever information I can.

Glad to be a part of the Eclipse community :) . It was my first IDE, and I still love using it.
Re: Hello All (And a question) [message #1787506 is a reply to message #1787494] Sun, 27 May 2018 16:23 Go to previous messageGo to next message
bitbucket: https://bitbucket.org/campbellb1/brandonwebsite/src