Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Standard Widget Toolkit (SWT) » SWT Libraries on Java 9
SWT Libraries on Java 9 [message #1783910] Tue, 20 March 2018 10:05 Go to next message
Andreas Abraham is currently offline Andreas AbrahamFriend
Hello everybody,

I am a software developer and maintainer and I am facing a problem right now.

We have developed an application for various platforms using the SWT library. When we run our build process, we only create one installer per platform containing the 32 and 64 bit version of the SWT library. During program start we then determined which platform is currently used and appended the required SWT library path to the java class path. This method does not work anymore for Java 9 but we have to extend our application in order to support java 9 as well.

My question therefore is, what would be the best practice for our application to also support java 9 and still dynamically determine which swt library to select depending on the platform?

Is there a SWT best practice how to determine platforms?

We have already tried to use the ModuleFinder, ModuleLoader provided by Java 9 but without any success.

Many thanks in Advance.

Best Regards,
Andreas
Re: SWT Libraries on Java 9 [message #1784165 is a reply to message #1783910] Fri, 23 March 2018 07:50 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Martin J is currently offline Martin JFriend