Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Newcomers » Newcomers » Using eclipse to perform own specific process
Using eclipse to perform own specific process [message #1782852] Fri, 02 March 2018 13:58 Go to next message
Tim Baalmann is currently offline Tim BaalmannFriend
Hi,

I want to use eclipse and plug-ins to perform a specific process. For this I need some functionality from different plug-ins, like loading SysML-Models from Papyrus or using specific Model2Text-Templates with Acceleo. Later on also combined with other functionalities performed through other (maybe own) plug-ins.

As I am relatively new to the processes behind eclipse, I would really appreciate any kind of help with regard to my intention. I already read (and testet a bit) about OSGi-Services, plug-in development and RCP application development, so I think what is planned could generally be possible, but I don't really know where to start with. Like how do I use functionality of other plug-ins and where do I find information about which functionality a plug-in has. And maybe also if it is more reasonable to develop a plug-in for the eclipse IDE or an RCP application.

As I said above, I am relatively new to all of this and would really appreciate any kind of help (tutorials, examples, or anything else).

Regards,
Re: Using eclipse to perform own specific process [message #1782917 is a reply to message #1782852] Mon, 05 March 2018 03:02 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Nitin Dahyabhai is currently offline Nitin DahyabhaiFriend

Start with the Platform Plug-in Developer Guide, and an example plug-in. It sounds like the hard part will be figuring out how to accomplish your objective, though, not how to integrate the solution into Eclipse.

_
Nitin Dahyabhai
Eclipse Web Tools Platform