Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Newcomers » Newcomers » Installing Eclipse for use by multiple users in a domain environment(Installation for a Windows domain environment)
Installing Eclipse for use by multiple users in a domain environment [message #1770754] Wed, 16 August 2017 19:36 Go to next message
David Wheeler is currently offline David WheelerFriend
Full disclosure, I do not use Eclipse. I am a domain administrator in search of install instructions or advice. How do I install "Java IDE for Java Developers" on a Windows Domain PC (Win10) for use by multiple users? When I install with the default options, it installs into my personal user profile which works fine but when a different user logs in, they don't have permission to access that folder. Is there a way to install it to a mapped drive or even the "program files" folder so there are no permission issues. Thanks in advance.

Dave
Re: Installing Eclipse for use by multiple users in a domain environment [message #1770774 is a reply to message #1770754] Thu, 17 August 2017 03:44 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Ed Merks is currently offline Ed MerksFriend
You can take one of two approaches.

You can download packages directly from https://www.eclipse.org/downloads/eclipse-packages/ and unzip one of more of those wherever you want (with admin privilege if permissions are a problem). The key is that to the end user, the installation be read-only. Eclipse then automatically created a "surrogate" installation in the user's home folder, nested in the .eclipse folder created there. The user will be able to install additional things locally via the surrogate, without modifying the read-only installation itself.