Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » EclipseLink » How do I insert into the bridging table for many to many tables ?
How do I insert into the bridging table for many to many tables ? [message #1769327] Sat, 29 July 2017 15:41 Go to next message
Karen Goh is currently offline Karen GohFriend
I am very new in JPA.

I have started off my project using Java EE servlet with DAO and JSP. But, I have problem in the know-how in inserting into the bridging table.

Please refer to my database schema. (If there is anything wrong here, kindly let me know also). Tks.

And now, I am using/adding EclipseLink with JPA with Tomcat 8 on top of the servlet layer.

All the basic like annotations like mappedby, POJO etc has been done.

My problem is how do I tell the Entity Manager to insert the data from my first table Id and 2nd table Id into the bridging table in my database - MySQL.

BTW, I am putting my EntityManager in my controller.

I will do the set of my Model attributes to the request getParameter values.

And then I will do a commit by em.persist(t) ; // t being the instance of my model.

I repeat the same for my 2nd model and now I am stuck how to go about doing the insertion for the bridging table.

Can someone please share with me some tips ?

Tks.
Re: How do I insert into the bridging table for many to many tables ? [message #1769482 is a reply to message #1769327] Tue, 01 August 2017 02:24 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Chris Delahunt is currently offline Chris DelahuntFriend
Subject and Tutor have a @ManyToMany relationship - this is handled transparently by JPA. What is different from your xlsx table description though is that you have duplicated the subject data into the tutor_subject table. Normally this would just contain the IDs of the two entities involved.