Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » C / C++ IDE (CDT) » "Launch Failed. Binary Not Found"(Need Assistance!)
"Launch Failed. Binary Not Found" [message #1741927] Tue, 30 August 2016 15:41 Go to next message
Jarod Stagner is currently offline Jarod StagnerFriend
10:29:44 **** Rebuild of configuration Debug for project MMM ****
Info: Internal Builder is used for build
g++ -O0 -g3 -Wall -c -fmessage-length=0 -o "src\\MMM.o" "..\\src\\MMM.cpp"
g++ -o MMM.exe "src\\MMM.o"
c:/mingw/bin/../lib/gcc/mingw32/5.3.0/../../../../mingw32/bin/ld.exe: cannot find -lpthread
collect2.exe: error: ld returned 1 exit status

10:29:45 Build Finished (took 302ms)

That is the error I receive; I am just starting to learn C++ in an online course but I can't even get the "Hello World" project running. So please keep in mind that I know very little when you try to explain how to fix this. I am using Eclipse Neon. Thank you!

I am using the MinGW C++ Compiler and yes I have it selected in the toolchain when I made the project.

I also have Windows 10
  • Attachment: Capture.PNG
    (Size: 39.41KB, Downloaded 343 times)
Re: "Launch Failed. Binary Not Found" [message #1742096 is a reply to message #1741927] Wed, 31 August 2016 11:36 Go to previous messageGo to next message
David VavraFriend
The error is "cannot find -lpthread". That would be he pthread (POSIX thread) library.
Do you have it installed? Do you really need it?

Using pthreads is not the default. How did it get set?

If not installed and you need it (although I doubt that for "Hello Word"), see this:
http://www.mingw.org/wiki/pthreads_library

if it is installed, did you tell gcc the path to the library by using the linker library settings?

Additional -- maybe helpful -- info:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/21684536/how-to-add-the-pthread-option-to-g-via-eclipse