Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Remote Application Platform (RAP) » Questions regarding context menus(Need to show a dynamic context menu in our RAP application)
Questions regarding context menus [message #1732817] Fri, 20 May 2016 12:35 Go to next message
Gunnar Adams is currently offline Gunnar AdamsFriend
Hi,
I am new to the RAP framework and am just learning JavaScript.

The final application will act as a web client for our server application, which is implemented in C++.
All of the user interface items are determined dynamically by the server application.
This also includes application context menus, which are built dynamically by the server and sent in a descriptive format to the client application.

This means, that on a MenuDetectEvent, the client application sends a message to the server "Context Menu for object xy should be shown".
The server responds, asynchronously, with a command "display the context menu with the following menu items".
This works fine for any UI widgets not based on Text or Label (e.g. Button).

For Text widgets, either the default Menu, as determined by the browser, ist shown, or, if I set an empty dummy Menu on the widget (Text.setMenu(dummyMenu)Wink , this Menu, even though it is actually empty, is shown with dimensions other than (0,0) before my actual popup menu is displayed.

Question:
How can I prevent the Browser Context Menu from showing, if there is no Menu set for the widget?
I have seen, that there is a call to _allowContextMenu() in _onmouseevent_post, which handles the prevention of the (additional) browser-owned menu, if a menu has been set for the widget, by calling _allowContextMenu().
I assume, that it should be possible to call setAllowContextMenu() and replace the callback function by one, which always returns false.
What is the best way to do this? How can I inject the necessary Javascript code?