Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » TMF (Xtext) » Newbie-- JVM Language-Extend Xbase and add joda.time.Interval as literal and add new operators
Newbie-- JVM Language-Extend Xbase and add joda.time.Interval as literal and add new operators [message #1723000] Wed, 10 February 2016 18:17 Go to next message
Dildar Mising name is currently offline Dildar Mising nameFriend
Hi All,

I am new to XText, Xtend and Xbase. I have reviewed practically all the material available on the internet. I am working on creating a new JVM DSL by inheriting Xbase grammar and adding 'temporal' syntax by incorporating joda.time.Interval.

The idea is to have literals and/or expressions that will help in a variety of situations dealing with the "interval" like constructs such as time periods.

I am trying to make some design decisions and will definitely benefit from your experience.

My questions is as follows:
i. Create new operators and Literals or ii. Use Expressions with statically imported methods?

I am trying to use the first approach and not finding much guidance about creating new operators on the internet. As an experiment, in my grammar I redefined:

OpCompare:
super
| '|-|' // equals
| '|>-' // starts
| '>-|' // finishes
| '|||' // overlaps
| '<->' // meets
| '<-|' // before
| '|->' // after
;

When I run the generated DSL and try to use one of these operators I get

"|-| cannot be resolved."

Please point me to the right direction.

In the mean time, I will work on using ImplicitlyImportedFeatures so that methods such as "overlaps", "meets" etc become available without having to import and with better integration with my DSL.

Thanks in advance.

Dildar

Re: Newbie-- JVM Language-Extend Xbase and add joda.time.Interval as literal and add new operators [message #1723005 is a reply to message #1723000] Wed, 10 February 2016 18:40 Go to previous messageGo to next message