Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Kura » Configuring wifi network
Configuring wifi network [message #1718066] Fri, 18 December 2015 20:41 Go to next message
Nicholas De Meine is currently offline Nicholas De MeineFriend
Hello,
I'm very new with kura and also linux.
I am making a little project trying to setup a kura gateway using a rasp b+, the gateway would be receiving data from wi-fi devices and also should send it through a cloud broker.
I setted up the gateway but when I did it with the network + ui install I lost connectivity, so, how is the best way to do it? where can I find the documentation for network configurations?
How can I set up the gateway as a wi-fi access point for the devices?

Thank you so much for your help
Re: Configuring wifi network [message #1718251 is a reply to message #1718066] Mon, 21 December 2015 17:31 Go to previous messageGo to next message
David Woodard is currently offline David WoodardFriend
Hello,

So you are collecting data over WiFi and sending data to the cloud broker over Ethernet? Or is WiFi your only active interface?

If you are new to Linux, I would recommend using the Kura web UI to configure the network interfaces. By default, Kura will setup the interfaces as:

eth0: DHCP, WAN
wlan0: Static (172.16.1.1), LAN, DHCP Server, AP mode

So, for initially configuring Kura, you will need an Ethernet connection. If you were connected via WiFi when you installed Kura, this is why you lost your connection. Once you have your Ethernet connection, you can access the Web UI and use the Networking tab to configure your wireless interface as needed.

Thanks,
--Dave
Re: Configuring wifi network [message #1718254 is a reply to message #1718251] Mon, 21 December 2015 19:10 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Nicholas De Meine is currently offline Nicholas De MeineFriend
Hello David,