Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » C / C++ IDE (CDT) » Weird errors from makefile
Weird errors from makefile [message #1704017] Thu, 06 August 2015 17:00
Barry Jones is currently offline Barry JonesFriend
Hi all, I am very new to eclipse and I have not touched c/c++ for a very long time. So unfortunately I have been so used to whacking open Visual Studio and having everything done for me.

Anyway back to the point. I have installed two eclipse plugins the first for this toolchain url launchpad.net/gcc-arm-embedded (url gnuarmeclipse.livius.net/) and the second for the avr toolchain ( url avr-eclipse.sourceforge.net/wiki/index.php/The_AVR_Eclipse_Plugin).

I have tried to create simple projects for both with one file main.c which does nothing more than include a main method and an empty while(1) loop.

However both of these are failing to compile with random error messages:

17:58:00 **** Incremental Build of configuration Release for project firstavr ****
make all
Building file: ../main.c
Invoking: AVR Compiler
avr-gcc -Wall -Os -fpack-struct -fshort-enums -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -std=gnu99 -mmcu=atmega2560 -DF_CPU=18000000UL -MMD -MP -MF"main.d" -MT"main.d" -c -o "main.o" "../main.c"
make: *** [main.o] Error -1073741502

17:58:02 Build Finished (took 2s.263ms)

And...

17:58:22 **** Incremental Build of configuration Debug for project firstarm ****
make all
Building file: ../src/main.c
Invoking: Cross ARM C Compiler
arm-none-eabi-gcc -mcpu=cortex-m3 -mthumb -O0 -fmessage-length=0 -fsigned-char -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -g3 -std=gnu11 -MMD -MP -MF"src/main.d" -MT"src/main.o" -c -o "src/main.o" "../src/main.c"
make: *** [src/main.o] Error -1073741502

17:58:24 Build Finished (took 2s.213ms)