Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » TMF (Xtext) » Replacing XText expressions with external Java (or other language) code? (Or other ways to test the performance of XText and DSL?)
Replacing XText expressions with external Java (or other language) code? [message #1697415] Wed, 03 June 2015 17:38 Go to next message
Jiaju Shen is currently offline Jiaju ShenFriend
Hi I am a XText newbie.

When I was designing DSL for my project, I was wondering the performance of XText and DSL interface, especially when the grammar gets complicated and number of selections in autocomplete gets higher.

Let's take this scenario as an example:

Model: greetings+=Greeting*;

Greeting: 
        'String1' | 'String2' | 'String3' |'String4'             //How to replace this chunk with 1000 similar strings?
;

But if I want to test the performance I would like to put thousands of "StringX" in order to see the result.
I am wondering if there is a way to see how the program works by replacing XText expressions with some smarter tools (like putting 1000 random generated strings by Java)?
Re: Replacing XText expressions with external Java (or other language) code? [message #1697417 is a reply to message #1697415] Wed, 03 June 2015 18:14 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Christian Dietrich is currently offline Christian DietrichFriend
Hi,

generally it is a bad idea to tie everything into grammar.
what about using validation and/or a libary approach?

e.g:

Greeting:
value=ID
;

+ Adaption of Validator and ProposalProvider

Twitter : @chrdietrich
Blog : https://www.dietrich-it.de

[Updated on: Wed, 03 June 2015 18:27]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Replacing XText expressions with external Java (or other language) code? [message #1697508 is a reply to message #1697417] Thu, 04 June 2015 13:24 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Jiaju Shen is currently offline Jiaju ShenFriend