Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Language IDEs » C / C++ IDE (CDT) » Newbie question, my 2nd program. Is a new project for a new program?(getting started)
Newbie question, my 2nd program. Is a new project for a new program? [message #1288081] Tue, 08 April 2014 09:02 Go to next message
John McLean is currently offline John McLeanFriend
I'm pretty much a beginner to c++ and an absolute beginner with eclipse. I have a c++ textbook and i'm trying to work through the example bits of code.

I can create a project in eclipse, compile/ run hello world etc. My question is, when it comes to my second program, do I need to create a completely new project?

I would have thought I could just open a new source file in eclipse within a given project, compile, run it, and so on, but this doesn't seem to be the case. The run configurations seem to need adjusted all the time. Is the simplest way forward for me to work through my example bits of code to create a new project for each one?

Many Thanks
John
Re: Newbie question, my 2nd program. Is a new project for a new program? [message #1293322 is a reply to message #1288081] Sat, 12 April 2014 14:21 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Timothy Golden is currently offline Timothy GoldenFriend
Due to the tremendous number of options in Eclipse I am hesitant to say that it is one executable per project, but I believe that is the correct way to look at the designers' intentions.

I have some mathematics research code which has dozens of standalone main() executables that I've been building from a makefile for years. I wanted to do a full eclipse importation into one project, but it has been challenging. I have tried many of the options and not gotten good results.