Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » Epsilon » Deep copy of model element
Deep copy of model element [message #1283477] Thu, 03 April 2014 13:07 Go to next message
Vlad Acretoaie is currently offline Vlad AcretoaieFriend
I am an Epsilon beginner, and am currently getting started by writing the classic Pull Up Attribute refactoring in ETL on a UML Class Diagram. My model is a UML model ("source.uml") created using Papyrus.

This is an endogenous transformation and I'm currently attempting an out-place approach - generating a separate output model "target.uml". As a first step, I should first be able to do something simple: copy the model in "source.uml" to "target.uml". However, I got stuck at this point. It is not clear to me whether I need to write an ETL rule for every model element type in "source.uml" - in UML, these can be quite a lot. Furthermore, do I then need to manually copy each property of each model element withing this rule? This seems like a lot of work, and also seems to lose the model structure - if I have a rule for instances of Property, Properties are created in the target model separately from any Class element.

Is there some kind of "deep copy" operator to allow copying e.g. a Class in the source model to the target model together with all of its Properties? Or just copy an entire Model as it is?

Thanks in advance,
Vlad
Re: Deep copy of model element [message #1283771 is a reply to message #1283477] Thu, 03 April 2014 20:11 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Dimitris Kolovos is currently online Dimitris KolovosFriend

Hi Vlad,

You can use EcoreUtil to deep-copy elements as follows:

var emfTool : new Native("org.eclipse.epsilon.emc.emf.tools.EmfTool");
var source = <the model element you need to copy>;
var copy = emfTool.getECoreUtil().copy();