Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Archived » BIRT » Cannot set the string value (value) to parameter 2. Invalid Column Index
Cannot set the string value (value) to parameter 2. Invalid Column Index [message #1265171] Wed, 05 March 2014 19:47 Go to next message
Scott Williams is currently offline Scott WilliamsFriend
I apologize in advance for the (likely) trivial nature of my inquiry, I'm brand new to BIRT.

I'm getting the following error when I run a certain report:

Cannot set the string value (value) to parameter 2.
org.eclipse.birt.report.data.oda.jdbc.JDBCException: Cannot set preparedStatement parameter string value.
SQL error #1: Invalid column index
;
java.sql.SQLException: Invalid column index
at org.eclipse.birt.data.engine.odaconsumer.ExceptionHandler.newException(ExceptionHandler.java:54)

The report was running fine, but I'm trying to alter what options are available in the parameter drop-down list. Here are the queries for the 2 data sets I'm using:

select PART, PART_DESC, BIN_LOCATION, QTY, WAREHOUSE
from view_name
where
WAREHOUSE = ?
and DEPT_ID = 'department'
and BIN_ACTIVE = 'Y'
order by BIN_LOCATION

select DESCRIPTION, WAREHOUSE
from table_name
where ACTIVE = 'Y'
and dept_id = 'department'
--UNION
--select 'ALL', 'ALL' from dual
order by DESCRIPTION

There's also a report parameter, with a list box as the display type, string data type, and dynamic selection list.

One of the things I was trying to do was remove the "All" option form the drop-down, as it resulted in an extremely large report. That's why 2 of the lines are commented out on that 2nd query. If that was not the correct way to handle that, please let me know. The other thing I was trying to do is only allow warehouses from a specific department appear on the drop-down, instead of all departments. To do that I added: and dept_id = 'department'