Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Archived » DSDP - Real-Time Software Components (RTSC) » .o prefix in object files extention(adding adi blackfin as new target)
.o prefix in object files extention [message #1217340] Thu, 28 November 2013 22:03 Go to next message
Serg Vdov is currently offline Serg VdovFriend
Hello,
I'm fairly new to xdc and trying to create a new target based on xdc.bld.ITarget2 for the adi blackfin compiler (ccblkfn.exe) and get stuck with situation when a resulting module makefile, based on the new target, has an ".o" prefix in the object file extension, which causes a compile error, since ccblkfn requires a .doj extension.
I also look at the xdc.bld _gen.xs file and see the .o is hardcoded when makefile is created...
Is there a way to get rid of the ".o"?
Thanks in advance,
Serg
Re: .o prefix in object files extention [message #1219259 is a reply to message #1217340] Tue, 03 December 2013 00:10 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Sasha Slijepcevic is currently offline Sasha SlijepcevicFriend
Serg,
unfortunately there is no an easy way to allow custom object file extensions. We would have to fix _gen.xs and probably some other files to allow that.
There could be a roundabout way to deal with the problem, which would require the target to keep renaming files at certain points of a build. Each target can have target filters (http://rtsc.eclipse.org/cdoc-tip/xdc/bld/ITargetFilter.html) that can be used for such purposes.
I can see that the blackfin compiler has the option -o. What can you do with it, change only the base name of the output file? Would the linker accept the object file with an extension different from '.doj'?
Re: .o prefix in object files extention [message #1219380 is a reply to message #1219259] Tue, 03 December 2013 15:14 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Serg Vdov is currently offline Serg VdovFriend