Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » TMF (Xtext) » Working With a User Generated Script
Working With a User Generated Script [message #1016577] Thu, 07 March 2013 00:34 Go to next message
Steve Kallestad is currently offline Steve Kallestad
Bear with me, I'm just getting started.

A few days ago, I learned antlr - just enough to declare a simple scripting language.

The idea popped into my head that it would be great if I could have syntax highlighting, which led me to XText.

I've gone through the tutorials, but... they seem pretty advanced for my needs.

I've created a grammar and the editor works just dandy. As far as that goes, XText is pretty darn awesome - the learning curve was pretty slim.

I'm now at the point where it's time to parse the script.

My goal is the scriptable automation of an existing java application. Say, for instance, I have a java class with two methods
public class talktome{
  public void sayHello(String Name){
    system.out.println("Hello " + Name);
  }
  public void sayGoodbye(String Name){
    system.out.println("Goodbye " + Name);
  }
}

I want to have a script that looks like this:
automater Talk1{
  SaySomethingTo("Fred")
  SaySomethingTo("Wilma")
  SaySomethingTo("Betty")
}

automater Talk2{
  JustSayGoodbye("Daphne")
  JustSayGoodbye("Scooby")
}

The end result that I want is something along the lines of:

import com.example.TalkToMe.*;
import somethingFromXtext;

public class Main {

public static void void main(String[] args){

XtextMagicalThing script = loadMyDSLScript("fromearlierinthepost");

for (automater : script.getAutomaters()){

for(command : automater.getCommands()){

if(command.name == "SaySomethingTo"){
                 SayHello(command.param);
                 SayGoodBye(command.param);
            } else if (command.name == "JustSayGoodbye"){
                 SayGoodBye(command.param);
            }

}
    }
  }
}