Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Eclipse 4 » Difficulties with tutorial examples(Cannot get past first base... basic window and menus, then nothing.)
icon5.gif  Difficulties with tutorial examples [message #1015844] Sun, 03 March 2013 17:36 Go to next message
Achim Schmitz is currently offline Achim Schmitz
Sorry if this all seems a bit basic, but I am definitely not a newcomer to eclipse. I am, however quite new to plugin development and an absolute novice where e4 is concerned.

I decided to do a few tutes to get up to speed with RCP and e4. I've now tried 3 and get the same result each time. I go through the following steps in (various order) but cannot get anything to work.

To date, beyond creating and running the initial app, I get nowhere. I even tried using Tom Schindl's live editor without any effect.

Since these are very basic tutes and I cannot find any other references to these sorts of problems in other forums, I assume I must be doing something really stupid. Or maybe I'm just missing the point of something.

Can anyone give me a hint where I should look to get things moving forward.

Thanks in advance.

Achim

[Updated on: Sun, 03 March 2013 17:42]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Difficulties with tutorial examples [message #1015885 is a reply to message #1015844] Mon, 04 March 2013 07:44 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Dirk Fauth is currently offline Dirk Fauth
How do you create your project and app? Using the e4 wizards or by your own?

IMHO there are missing some addons in your Application.xmi ... but without further information on your project it is hard to say what's wrong.

Greez,
Dirk
Re: Difficulties with tutorial examples [message #1016010 is a reply to message #1015885] Mon, 04 March 2013 15:24 Go to previous messageGo to next message