Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Newcomers » Newcomers » Error: java.lang.NullPointerException(runs fine locally but not on the server)
Error: java.lang.NullPointerException [message #1012424] Thu, 21 February 2013 14:39 Go to next message
Nadeem B is currently offline Nadeem BFriend
Hi,

I am new to using eclipse and tomcat. I am trying to get my web application working server side. I am getting a strange error message "Error: java.lang.NullPointerException" when I run a query in my deployed web application from the server. The server runs Apache web server 2.2, tomcat 5.5.27, and Java 1.6.0_26 and MySQL version 5.0.95. The web application runs fine locally within eclipse. However deployed on the server (via an war export and upload through lamda probe) it suddenly throws an excepction. I have checked web.xml, servlet config, properties files all seem ok. I feel like I have exhauseted every possible option but I am completely stumped as to why this issue is occuring. I know this is rather specific but if anyone can help or point me in the right direction I would be really grateful. Also if posting any config files etc would help then I can do that also. Hope someone can help!

Cheers
Re: Error: java.lang.NullPointerException [message #1012578 is a reply to message #1012424] Thu, 21 February 2013 20:41 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Russell Bateman is currently offline Russell BatemanFriend

On 2/21/2013 12:40 PM, Nadeem B wrote:
> Hi,
>
> I am new to using eclipse and tomcat. I am trying to get my web
> application working server side. I am getting a strange error message
> "Error: java.lang.NullPointerException" when I run a query in my
> deployed web application from the server. The server runs Apache web
> server 2.2, tomcat 5.5.27, and Java 1.6.0_26 and MySQL version 5.0.95.
> The web application runs fine locally within eclipse. However deployed