When modifying and saving a version-controlled file several times, it is shown several times in the commit dialog (see attached screenshot). However, clicking on each of them reveals the same contents (the current file version) in the diff view at the top. Is this intended behavior? Can it be turned off somehow so that each file is only shown a single time?
This looks like GitX, a fairly nice OS X front end to Git. I haven't used it much since EGit 2.0 but I never saw it behave this way when I was using it, and I can't replicate this problem right now.
In any case this has nothing with to do with EGit/JGit. The original poster should investigate the 'Git Staging' view in EGit instead of using a separate tool like GitX or SourceTree or even gitk. Staying in the Eclipse context is a major win.