Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » Graphiti » Basic Questions
Basic Questions [message #976115] Thu, 08 November 2012 10:23 Go to next message
Matthias N is currently offline Matthias NFriend
Hi,

I am relatively new to Graphiti and before I start, I wanted to know if the things I am planning to do are feasible.

(Currently I use the GMF generative approach, but I am not satisfied)

What I want to do with Graphiti:

a)
I want to draw some elements on the diagram and when I click on a certain type of element, another diagram editor shall be opened, where I can model more details / the internals of this certain element.

b)
When another tool has created an instance of my domain model, I wan't to import the model and get a visual representation of it. Then I can modify some of the content and finally can use it in my previous tool as well.

c)
I want to have several types of diagram editors, each specifying a different view of the domain model.

Btw, the most severe drawback I have with GMF is, that I have a domain model which I am not allowed to change. So, in a lot of cases the generic approach doesn't work as expected because of missing containment references ... I hope this will be better with Graphiti ?!

Thanks a lot
Matthias
Re: Basic Questions [message #976332 is a reply to message #976115] Thu, 08 November 2012 13:58 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Andreas Graf is currently offline Andreas GrafFriend
Hi Matthias,

you can do all that Smile

Andreas
Re: Basic Questions [message #986300 is a reply to message #976115] Mon, 19 November 2012 19:03 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Matthias N is currently offline Matthias NFriend
Hi Andreas,

thanks for you answer, sounds pretty cool.

I am curious and ask the other way round:
What are things I can't do with Graphiti ?! For what situations / scenarios is Graphiti not suitable for ?!

Thanks