Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Standard Widget Toolkit (SWT) » Close one GLCanvas and other GLCanvas goes blank on Mac(Close one GLCanvas and other GLCanvas goes blank on Mac)
Close one GLCanvas and other GLCanvas goes blank on Mac [message #968557] Fri, 02 November 2012 14:57 Go to next message
pb irish is currently offline pb irishFriend
I'm new to the project that I am working on and new to JOGL/Open GL, so I will do my best to describe the problem with enough information to be useful. The problem seems to be related to SWT and/or JOGL issues on Mac, so I posted the question here and on a JOGL forum hoping it strikes a chord with someone.

Our application runs on Linux, Windows, and Mac (not sure of the exact version of the Mac OS) and this problem only occurs on Mac machines.

The application creates multiple instances of FormEditors (org.eclipse.ui.forms.editor.FormEditor). Each FormEditor instance contains an instance of a FormPage (org.eclipse.ui.forms.editor.FormPage) which contains an instance of GLCanvas. When one editor is closed, the GLCanvas on all other open editors goes blank. When another editor is opened, the previously open editors are redrawn.

To be a little more precise without going into extensive detail, the FormPage contains a ScrolledForm (org.eclipse.ui.forms.ScrolledForm). The Composite returned from ScrolledForm.getBody(), is passed to FormToolkit.createComposite() to create a Composite which is passed to the GLCanvas constructor to finally result in a GLCanvas instance.