Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » EGit » Not saving "Synchronize Git" information
Not saving "Synchronize Git" information [message #902458] Fri, 17 August 2012 13:16 Go to next message
Rob Light is currently offline Rob Light
Messages: 5
Registered: August 2012
Junior Member
In the Synchronize View I setup to sync my project with Git but if I close Eclipse I lose this setup. See attached screen shots. Is there at way to keep my sync configuration between Eclipse restarts?

I'm using Groovy/Grails Tool Suite 3.0.0.RELEASE which contains EGit 2.0.0.201206130900-r.

Thanks in advance,
Rob
Re: Not saving "Synchronize Git" information [message #902463 is a reply to message #902458] Fri, 17 August 2012 13:56 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Dariusz Luksza is currently offline Dariusz Luksza
Messages: 40
Registered: July 2010
Member

This is know bug, there is also fix for this, but it is pending in review. Should be fixed in 2.1
Re: Not saving "Synchronize Git" information [message #902505 is a reply to message #902463] Fri, 17 August 2012 21:23 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Rob Light is currently offline Rob Light
Messages: 5
Registered: August 2012
Junior Member
Thanks for the quick response! That's really surprising that this is actually a bug AND it's over a year old. How do people use EGit then? There must be a different method to view changes in a project. Does anyone know?

Thanks,
Rob
Re: Not saving "Synchronize Git" information [message #902555 is a reply to message #902505] Sat, 18 August 2012 07:55 Go to previous messageGo to next message
R Shapiro is currently offline R Shapiro
Messages: 386
Registered: June 2011
Senior Member
In the most common case, where you want to see differences between the working directory and the Index and/or the Index and the HEAD, the Git Staging view is the most effective way to do it in my opinion. This is the case your example seems to illustrate. Personally I never use the Synchronize view for this, and none of my co-workers use it this way either.

You can use the Synchronize view for this purpose but it's more useful for something else: showing differences between the current HEAD and some other branch or reference. This an operation I don't need to do all that often and that's generally different for every invocation. So the known bug doesn't matter much to me, certainly not as much as several other long-standing bugs.
Re: Not saving "Synchronize Git" information [message #902703 is a reply to message #902555] Sun, 19 August 2012 19:43 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Rob Light is currently offline Rob Light
Messages: 5
Registered: August 2012
Junior Member
OK it's the Git Staging View that I was missing. Also, selecting Team > Synchronize Workspace is a really quick way to get the Synchronize View that I'm so used to using. The reason I'm so used to this view is that I'm a long-time Subclipse (now Subversive) user.

Thanks again for everyone's help. Very much appreciated!

Best,
Rob
Re: Not saving "Synchronize Git" information [message #902763 is a reply to message #902505] Mon, 20 August 2012 06:31 Go to previous message
Dariusz Luksza is currently offline Dariusz Luksza
Messages: 40
Registered: July 2010
Member

To by hones, during five years of using cvs-synchronization I never pin any sychronization. I was always redoing "team->synchonize" each time I want to review outgoing and incomming changes
Previous Topic:JGit - Override paintCommit (AbstractPlotRenderer)
Next Topic:JGit diff word by word
Goto Forum:
  


Current Time: Wed Aug 20 08:48:46 EDT 2014

Powered by FUDForum. Page generated in 0.02233 seconds